GP51MP-24B-045-1 Hot Surface Ignitor replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

Onkar Sharma

Reaction score
Hi All,
Let me start by saying that I am very new to this.
I just bought my house and woke up to a cold home. I am good with tools but am just figuring out the furnace.

There is no ignition in the furnace. It looks like the signal from thermostat is reaching the furnace and the furnace does try to start and quickly errors out. From the flashing lights on the furnace logic board it looks like the ignitor needs to be replaced. I am trying to get the burner box cover off. I removed the 4 screws on the front cover but it is still stuck very tight. Is there a reason for the cover to be glued to the box? Should I just keep yanking at it or there is a trick I am missing?

Sorry for the silly question but any help will be appreciated. Also I did unplug the HVAC and closed the gas line. Is there any other safety step I am missing?

Stuff

Reaction score
I never heard of one being glued shut. Heat issues would make any glue ineffective. Sometimes rust will hold things in place but more likely there is another screw.

Onkar Sharma

Reaction score
Thanks.
Makes sense except I see only 4 screws. Online video talks about only 4 screws.
Here's the picture of my HVAC burner box cover

Let me know what you think. Meanwhile I will try again tonight

Attachments

• IMG_20171104_140818.jpg
    IMG_20171104_140818.jpg
    93.5 KB · Views: 298

Stuff

Reaction score
Yes, that cover should just pop right off. Did you use a multi-meter (ohmmeter) to check the ignitor?

Onkar Sharma

Reaction score
It is the same video I saw. That cover came off so easily for him. I think I broke a nail or two trying to pry it off. Am going to go there soon. Will keep you posted.

Onkar Sharma

Reaction score
Checked igniter. It is reading 14ohms. The expected resistance should be between 10-20 ohms. Now I am at a loss.
The two lights ds1 and ds2 are flashing fast alternatively.