How tight - copper to brass threaded fittings

Users who are viewing this thread

tfratzel

Reaction score
I recently bought a Kohler shower mixing valve. The valve inputs and outputs are all female treaded. I'm assuming that I can solder a copper threaded adapter to my 1/2" supply lines and then screw that directly into the valve. I'm just curious about two issues before I try this on the expensive valve.

1. Pipe dope or teflon tape?

2. Are there any general rules of thumb on how tight to tighten these kind of fittings?

I'm fairly new to plumbing skills.....finally I'm able to solder and hopefully with some advice I can make these threaded connections without any hidden leaks in the wall.

Thanks,

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Kind of hard to screw it into the shower valve after you've soldered the fitting on! You need to screw it into the valve, then solder it. Now, if you have the room, you could use a union too, this would allow you to solder the stuff up without it actually screwed into the valve, then insert it, then tighten down the union. This would give you the ability to loosed the union up, tighten the fitting into the valve if it leaked, then retighten the union without having to unsolder the stuff. Now, this involves more soldering, and is another thing thatcould leak, but you wouldn't risk overheating and ruining your shower valve, either.

Someone said that some of the threaded valves will also accept a sweated in piece of pipe, thatcould give you another option if it worked.

Somewhat depends on how much room you have and how skillful you are.

I'd practice some on some scraps first - cheap insurance.

The key to a good solder joint is make the pipe and the fitting clean, cover well with flux, move the torch around the joint and get it hot enough to melt the solder without having to have the flame on the solder, then cleaning it off after you get the solder to flow throughout the fitting.