How accurate is the Hach 5B?

Users who are viewing this thread

BillMN

Reaction score
I've been planning on replacing my ancient softener and I've been hanging around here for a few months trying to gather information so that I can make an informed decision. Early on, I decided to purchase a Hach 5B to confirm that my old softener wasn't doing the job anymore (it wasn't) and also to check my incoming water. And that's where I encountered a problem.

I'm on city water and the city publishes an annual water quality report. The latest one states that the water "has approximately 18 grains of hardness". When I tested my water with the Hach 5B, I got 27 grains. Yikes. I went back to the city's report and saw that the city operates a total of 17 wells that draw from 3 different aquifers. Several of the wells are seasonal. I decided to repeat my test every week or two to see if I got any difference in my readings. Unfortunately, it's winter, so I probably didn't get to see what might happen during summer's heavy usage. I did see some variation in my tests - the lowest reading I got was 24 grains and the highest was 29.

So now I'm confused. Who should I believe? The city presumably has trained technicians with access to lots of expensive lab equipment. And then there's untrained me with a $25 test kit. Does anyone have any ideas as to what might be going on? Obviously there's a big difference between 18 grains and something in the upper 20's. For my typical water consumption (100 to 120 gallons per day), that's probably the difference between 1.0 cu ft and 1.5 cu ft for a softener.

Reach4

Reaction score
Believe the Hach test. Start with 30 grains for your settings. Incidentally, above 30 grains, you want to test 1/2 distilled water and 1/2 test water, and double the reading. You could do that for lower amounts too.