Booster pump after pressure tank

Users who are viewing this thread

tico007

Reaction score
Hello,
New to this forum and new to wells, will try my best to explain. I live in Hudson, NH. All the houses in my area are on well water, most deep (100'+) My house has a monodrive (w/20gal pressure tank) installed 10+ years ago. 3k sf house w/2.5 baths, irrigation system on a half acre of grass. Pressure is a constant 65psi. All seemed ok until this year..

This was a bad year in the northeast, especially my area of southern NH. Severe drought like I've never experienced. Rained twice all summer. To this date we still have a rainfall deficit of almost 9". The grass was getting pretty bad so I added a cycle to the irrigation routine. Then it happened.. No water.. Lasted 5 mins. Then again the next day accompanied by what I guess you could call a hammering at a valve. We were running out of water.. Oh no!

I studied up on how that monodrive actually works. "replace this big tank with this tiny tank" all over the internet. Raving about constant pressure systems. Yes love that 65psi water, but further reading explains why you only need the tiny tank. Because its a cycle buffer, thats all it is. Using one of the constant pressure systems means no water storage (in my configuration). Completely well and pump reliant. Flush a toilet, get a glass of water, on comes the pump. This also means the 20 gal pressure tank that is there is basically useless. And after the threat of running out of water this setup needs to go.

What I want to do is..

- get rid of the monodrive
- go back to conventional 60/40 ps w/119gal pressure tank
- add something like this pic below on the house side to replicate existing 65psi
( https://www.amazon.com/DuraMAC-2HP-...e=UTF8&qid=1479818326&sr=8-1&keywords=DuraMAC )
duramac-city-water-pressure-boost.jpg