Home PC, ungrounded outlet and CFCI

Users who are viewing this thread

MrFizzbin

Reaction score
Greetings all. This is my first post by the way. I am a novice when it comes to wiring, so I thought it would be a good idea to do some reading, on-line research as well as to seek out some knowledgeable people in the field of home electricity DIY. Here is my situation. I have an older home, built back in the 50's. The outlets , according to my circuit tester, have an "open ground" . I want to be able to protect my home electronics, particularly my office computer. No, I have been told that a power bar with a circuit breaker will be of no use in the even of a power surge, as the power can't be shunted through the ground .. So ... will a GFCI be of any use in this scenario? Is there a way to ground the outlet somehow, without doing major re-wiring. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
If there is not a equipment ground conductor in the box, there should not be any receptacles installed with the 3rd hole for the ground. This would be a code violation.

The only way it is allowed is IF they are GFCI and marked "No Equipment Ground".

Reach4

Reaction score
The power strip with a surge protector will be useful, but not as useful as if there were a good ground. That strip will typically have 3 protects-- between the 3 conductors. Only one will be there to short across.

There are some protectors better than others. Cheap and intermediate units are going to only use MOV protection. Some will use more sophisticated means, and will probably cost more. I have not searched one out for you. I am not using one of the better units myself.

There is an unofficial way by running the safety ground line to a nearby water pipe that is connected by metal all of the way out of the house . This will probably raise some red flags from electricians, because I think that is forbidden by code. But it would work to make things better.