Information on Distance between Pump Pressure Switch and Pressure Tank

Users who are viewing this thread

sanghraa

Reaction score
Need help. I am new to the working of Well and Pump system. We moved into this house which has well system. The pump and the control valve is less than 2 years old.
The setup is as below. My well and my house is 200 feet apart and my house is at an elevation difference with 100 ft higher.

The setup is as below:
- The Pressure tank is at the house
- Pressure Switch is near the well pump :
- Distance between the pressure switch and the pressure tank is 200 ft
- Pressure Switch : Cut in 130 Cut Out : 150
- Pressure Tank : 40 PSI

I was told by the installer that the difference in pressure setup is due to elevation difference.

The pressure control valve keep tripping.

I spoke to the well guy and he indicated that the setup is wrong and that there has to be a pressure tank next to the pressure switch in order to make
sure that the pump does not cycle too often. with the current setup the pump cycles a lot when it reaches the Cut in.

Any guidance on what could be wrong is helpful.

Reach4

Reaction score
I spoke to the well guy and he indicated that the setup is wrong and that there has to be a pressure tank next to the pressure switch in order to make
sure that the pump does not cycle too often. with the current setup the pump cycles a lot when it reaches the Cut in.

He is right, that would be better than what you have now if the pressure tank is rated for such pressures. Most are not., Moving the pressure switch inside to the pressure tank is much better. How does the power get to the well now?

Last edited:

sanghraa

Reaction score
Thank you of your reply.

The power to the well is on a different meter. So I cannot put the pressure switch close to the house where my pressure tank is as there is no wiring running from the house to the well.

Is it best to install another pressure tank close to the swtich near the well.

Reach4