Regeneration Flow Rate

Users who are viewing this thread

Reach4

Reaction score
See figure 4 in http://www.wcponline.com/pdf/0607Michaud.pdf

Your 14 inch OD tank will have a cross section of about 1 square foot. (1 square ft would correspond to 13.54 inches ID) So for 50% expansion, you would want 6 GPM. I am not a pro, and I could be mis-thinking this.

Shopco

Reaction score
Great Link Reach4! I have spent some time looking for this info. It’s funny; I was thinking that the finer mesh would require a greater backflow. The Fleck 2510 I was planning on ordering comes with a backflow rate of 10gpm and I was concerned that this might be inadequate. Now I am thinking it might be too much! Do you (or anyone) know how to control the backwash flow rate? Is it pre-set?

Shopco

Reaction score
How is the flow rate set? Does the Fleck 2510 backwash at 10gpm, as the dealer says or can it be adjusted?

Shopco

Reaction score
See figure 4 in http://www.wcponline.com/pdf/0607Michaud.pdf

According to this chart the differences in proper flow rate vs mesh size is significant. The generic setting for a GAC filter seems to be 10gpm but that is for 12x40 mesh which (if I am reading the chart correctly) yields a bed expansion of 40% . Using 10gpm flow rate for 20x50 mesh yields a bed expansion of over 100%. Wouldn’t a 100% bed expansion result in carbon being forced into the drain unless there was a screen to prevent it?

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
14" tank has a sq. ft. area of 1.068, at 10 GPM per Sq. ft. a 10 GPM Backwash rate is correct, assuming water temperature is 60-ish. which is a 40% expansion.

Shopco

Reaction score