Replace 63 year old Cast Iron drain lines or no?

Users who are viewing this thread

rocafeller05

Reaction score
Hello all. Newbie here with a question...

Im getting ready to finish my basement and Im in torn in 2 pieces whether I should replace all the existing cast iron drain lines with PVC.

Some details:

-Cast Iron looks to be in good condition
-Is 63 years old
-Will be buried behind basement walls when basement is finished.
-Major change out with about 100' total piping and fittings.
-I plan on being in this house another 35 years, at least.

Questions:

-If this was your house would you leave it or change it to PVC?
-Will this be something to come back to haunt me 30 years down the road if not changed?

Thanks in advance.

MichaelBukay

Plumber
Reaction score
have you ever had any main-line blockages? get a guy to come camera the line. Prob about $200.00 but worth it. They will give you a dvd/vhs of the sewer line. If it's all clear just keep it cast iron, unless you have the extra money to replace all of the line with pvc.

Winslow

Plumber
Reaction score
If it's within your budget I'd change it now while you have the chance. A lot cheaper then opening up walls and ceiling later.

Jacobsond

DIY Junior Member
Reaction score
Website
www.nielsenelectric.com
I would find a good sewer guy with a camera inspection and decide from there.I have cast iron sewer pipes that are a lot older than yours with no problems at all.If replacement is in your budget I might lean towards replacement,but after inspection I wouldn't be afraid of cast iron.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com