Soldering, Unjoining, and Resoldering Copper???

Users who are viewing this thread

jjohanson

Reaction score
Question 1:
Can I use a compression fitting over solder leftover from a prior solder joint?

Question 2:
Can I re-solder a joint after heating up the old joint, removing the old fitting, and briefly cleaning the old solder with a wire cleaner?

Background:
I am new to sweating pipe - I have read up on proper pipe cleaning and soldering techniques, but have not found that much information on how much you can work with a joint that has already been soldered.

For example, I have one scenario where there is an existing 3/4" copper stub-out for a shower faucet which has compression fittings. The 3/4" copper has caps which have been soldered on. Can I heat this up, remove the caps, and simply attach the compression fitting over where the cap was (after a brief cleanup with a wire cleaner to generally smooth the solder out)? After running the wire cleaner over it for 1-2 minutes, it is not getting through the old solder and down to the copper.

Related example, if I want to redo a solder joint and I remove the old joint per above, can I just place new flux over the cleaned solder joint and re-solder a new fitting on?

copper_90.jpg

Soldered with No-Lead solder

Last edited by a moderator:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score