Copper drain lines

Users who are viewing this thread

thebozer

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a remodeling contractor based in Boston. We are in the midst of a kitchen renovation project.

The existing drain line from the sink is PVC and transitions to copper just below the floor and continues back to the stack, as such. The small section of PVC was presumably installed during the last renovation.

My plumber is insisting that the entire run of copper drain line needs to be removed and replaced with PVC. FOr the life of me, I can't understand the reasoning behind this... copper (as we all know) is a great material, there are no signs of corrosion, everything is in good working order, blah blah blah.

He says it's a "code" issue. I am almost tempted to call the Plumbing inspector myself. Can anyone speak to this???

thanks,

Nick

Basement_Lurker

One who lurks
Reaction score
I don't know your specific plumbing code, but I have a feeling that the only "code issue" that he has in mind is the code to his bank account so he can cash the cheque!

JohnjH2o1

Plumbing Contractor for 49 years
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a remodeling contractor based in Boston. We are in the midst of a kitchen renovation project.

The existing drain line from the sink is PVC and transitions to copper just below the floor and continues back to the stack, as such. The small section of PVC was presumably installed during the last renovation.

My plumber is insisting that the entire run of copper drain line needs to be removed and replaced with PVC. FOr the life of me, I can't understand the reasoning behind this... copper (as we all know) is a great material, there are no signs of corrosion, everything is in good working order, blah blah blah.

He says it's a "code" issue. I am almost tempted to call the Plumbing inspector myself. Can anyone speak to this???

thanks,

Nick