washer vent, is this ok?

Users who are viewing this thread

Pabs

Reaction score
hi all

new to this forum... been looking arounf and it seems lkke there's lots of good advice here

here's my situation. I'm in the middle of a bahroom reno
I'm doing the reno in order to put my washer and dryer on the main floor bathroom.

This was the existing plumbing .

before.jpg

I would like to tie in the washer to this system. is branching into like the pic below ok? can they both share the same vent in this manner?

vent.jpg

if so, are there distance minimums/maximums? can I put the inlet for the washer directly below the inlet for the sink? does the height of the washer inlet need to be at a certain height relative to the sink? etc

thanks for taking the time

Pabs

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Note I'm not a pro...technically, since the WM T's into the pipe below the sink, it isn't a vent. You should be able to move it up and use the proper x fitting. Note, the WM drain line needs to be 2", and the sink's line may not be. There's probably some other things involved...wait for the pros. For power, code normally requires a dedicated circuit for the WM, but since it is in a bathroom, that might have to be a GFI. Not sure about that, either, but something to look into.

Pabs

Reaction score
makes sense,

this would be a better design I think.
ventMod.jpg

the washer drain has to be 2 ...but the sink is only 1 1/2" correct?

if hte WM drain has to be 2" then I won't have a choice but to make the whole thing out of 2" pipe I guess....right?

Pabs

Winslow

Plumber
Reaction score
hi all

new to this forum... been looking arounf and it seems lkke there's lots of good advice here

here's my situation. I'm in the middle of a bahroom reno
I'm doing the reno in order to put my washer and dryer on the main floor bathroom.

This was the existing plumbing .

before.jpg