Plastic shower base with tile walls?

Users who are viewing this thread

JLH001

Reaction score
I'm replacing a 36x36 one-piece plastic shower stall. I had planned on replacing it with a two-piece retrofit, but decided they look pretty cheap. I studied the solid-panel plastic shower wall/floor units, but their cost seems out-of-line with what I'd get. I like tile, but have seen a lot of moldy grout lines in the past. I'm now thinking a plastic shower base with porcelain tile walls may be a good compromise. I figure the plastic base would be lower maintenance than a tiled shower floor (no grout lines that mold and need cleaning), and the tiled walls would look a lot better than plastic.

Is this commonly done? My searching on the internet help forums and videos makes me think everyone automatically tiles the floor.

The previous stall was a fiberglass reinforced affair and hair-line cracks in the flexible floor were allowing water to seep through. I'd plan on setting the shower base in mortor of some sort to prevent any flexing. I'm not a professional, but have laid quite a few tile, and I'm big on careful prep. Any recommendations?

Last edited:

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
shower

It is not common, but it is done. I would be more concerned about what you mean by a "plastic" base. I would only consider a "heavy duty" material such as "FlorStone", which CANNOT flex and sits directly on the floor.

JLH001

Reaction score
I had in mind a solid plastic base, probably the Swanstone that I think my local Home Depot carries in stock. I understand they require mortar to keep them from flexing. The bathtub I installed a couple of years ago was supported that way, and it's very reassuringly solid to stand on.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Mold requires three things: moisture, food, and the mold spores themselves. since the spores are nearly everywhere, all you need is the other two.