Moving a Floating object in a circulating system

Users who are viewing this thread

CJennings

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a college student and need some help with a project i am working on. ANY input would be appreciated so don't hesitate!

I am trying to enter and move a floating object into a constantly circulating water system, where the floating object comes out the other side. for a better idea, something like what is shown in the following link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJlgc79XrQk&feature=related

I've racked my brain and have come up with the idea that i may need a small centrifugal pump. some PVC pipe and a circulating system. My only problem is how to get the ball to enter the water system because it floats. and also how to get the ball to come out of a totally different extraction point without water coming out of that point as well. I've thought of two overflow tanks both with pumps, or basing it mostly off gravity. but its all becoming a blur. Anyway if anyone has any ideas or comments please feel free to post.

Thank you in advance

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
ball

You have to have an open tank with the fluid moving from the inlet past the outlet. Then you need an "injection" system, such as opposing belts to pull the ball down into the fluid. Next, there has to be a guide device to direct the ball to the outlet, and finally a second set of belts, wheels, waterwheel, or whatever, to grab the ball and propel it upward. Anything that works with gravity, will also drain the water.

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
Does the system require water or can air be substituted...

Gardner

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Perhaps an archimedes screw type arrangement. The screw can be angled downward to pick up the ball and carry it under the surface of the water and carry it along though your mechanism.