water pressure problem

Users who are viewing this thread

mattnjodie

Plumber
Reaction score
i have a fairly shallow well that is drawn with a 1 1/2hp pump/230v 1ph (do not know brand) with a 9013 square d flow control (pumptrol) and a 30psi pressure tank (well-x-trol). my problem is that for the past few days my h2o pressure has had a lag for a while after using a considerable amount of h2o (i.e. after washing dishes, running washing machine, or showering), and also when it is first used in the morning. the good thing is that it will catch back up after a bit. i know the limit switch is operating correctly and the pump operates when the switch calls for h2o, but i'm leaning towards a loss of pressure in my bladder tank. as i stated, this just started a few days ago. as far as i know, this system was set up in the 80's and i've only lived here for 3 years. i am a plumber with very little experience in service work on well systems. any and all help will be appreciated.

thanx, matt :confused:

mattnjodie

Plumber
Reaction score
NEVER MIND :D i seem to have solved my own problem. my well is VERY iron rich, so with the advice from the guy @ low*s, i bought and installed a charcoal whole house filter. it is rated @ 25 microns. i was hesitant, but he insisted, so i heeded his advice, much to my dismay. i replaced the filter with a paper type just a minute ago, and all is back to normal, bad taste and all. lol i strongly suggest that you DO NOT use a charcoal filter with an iron rich, shallow well cuz the filter lasted only 2 1/2 weeks b4 becoming saturated. thanx 4 the opportunity to try 4 help. matt :D

Last edited by a moderator:

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
The paper type will clog just as often...maybe more depending on the micron rating... you could place the charcoal filter after the paper filter.

Gary Slusser

That's all folks!
Reaction score
Website
www.qualitywaterassociates.com