Easy sink drain question

Users who are viewing this thread

RyanP

Reaction score
I'm sorry for this basic question, but I'd like some insight on this issue. I am installing a new vanity that is open underneath and has a shelf that runs across the bottom probably 6" off the floor. It also came with a basket that sits on that shelf (I guess for towels and whatnot). Unfortunately the drain coming out of the wall is low on the wall, so having a p-trap would interfere with the shelf/basket. Is it allowable to have an elevated p-trap and then a vertical drop to the wall drain? I've tried to diagram it (albeit crudely--I'm no artist)...this is a side view, and on the upper portion, there is a false front, so it's open behind there. Thanks for any help!
Ryan

Drain-Diagram.JPG

RyanP

Reaction score
Should a plumber have known that? I had one in while I had the walls down, and he saw the vanity and put in a new drain (and a new T and everything), but for some reason he did not raise the drain. I was pretty fired up when I figured all that out (I know, I should have thought about it before putting the walls back, but I assumed he would set it at the appropriate height to work). I imagine he didn't b/c it would have meant cutting a new hole in the stud, and he didn't want to take the time. That said, I would like to not go back into the wall if I don't have to. Is there a danger of setting it up as shown? Thanks!
Ryan

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Yes the trap would not be properly vented and the water could siphon out of the trap allowing sewer gases to enter your home.

Master Plumber 101

In the Trades
Reaction score