junction box and code

Users who are viewing this thread

lnfd27

Reaction score
We are having a microwave installed above our stove. The contractor is dropping wire down to the basement to a junction box. He is then running a wire from the panel box to the junction box. Will this meet code? I thought the wire had to run from the appliance directly to the panel box. Thanks
Lynn

CharlieM

Reaction score
I don't know why your contractor would not homerun the cable unless there are pathway issues along the way which can happen in remodels.

I'm not a pro, but as far as I know from my reading of NEC, junction box is permissable as long as it remains accessible (ie, not buried behind drywall, etc).

Wrex

Reaction score
I'm not a pro, but as far as I know from my reading of NEC, junction box is permissable as long as it remains accessible (ie, not buried behind drywall, etc).

This is what I have read as well.

It may also be the contractor cut the romex too short and it won't reach the box and this is a lazy effort to salvage the cable.

Or he has a useless cut length of cable that hes trying to get rid of.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
wire

There could be any number of legitimate reasons to do it that way, and there is nothing improper about doing it that way. The only downside is if someone decides to make a connection to that J box someday and extend it to an outlet or light fixture.

Billy_Bob

In the Trades
Reaction score
Junction boxes are quite common. I use them to make running (fishing) wires easier. Especially when using conduit.

If an electrician is working by himself, then it can be quite difficult to fish a wire a long distance. Easier if there is a helper to "push" while the other is "pulling".