KOHLER Single Handle Shower Faucet TROUBLES Help

Users who are viewing this thread

wright424

Reaction score
I Have recently done a bathroom remodel and my old single handle faucet has in terrible shape. I decided to go ahead and upgrade to the Kohler Forte' and now I am stuck. I have never done this before and I am a bit "rusty" when it comes to the proper terms however I tried to install using the old valve in the the wall and to my surprise not the same. I have no Idea what brand the old one was and I am not sure what to do. Do I need to cut the copper pipping to the valveor is it a diverter?? and replace that whole thing or can I buy a universal kit fr this????? I hope I dont sound like a complete dummy but I am truely stuck.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
You need to take a picture so we can see what you are talking about...really hard to troubleshoot in the blind. It is a rare faucet that can be replaced directly with new. You almost always need to move a few things around. A lot of the people here don't prefer Kohler...their design of the day means that it is almost impossible to get parts locally when it needs them eventually. Their parts book looks like a phone book, so it is rare that anyone has parts and they have to be ordered.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
faucet

There are no "universal" kits that allow you to install one brand, and model, of trim on another's brass part in the wall. And if you do not know the make and model of that part, you also do not know what parts you do have to purchase. To use your Kohler parts you have to install the Kohler valve inside the wall.

CindyJ

Reaction score
A lot of the people here don't prefer Kohler...their design of the day means that it is almost impossible to get parts locally when it needs them eventually. Their parts book looks like a phone book, so it is rare that anyone has parts and they have to be ordered.