New Breaker Box

Users who are viewing this thread

Msehler

Reaction score
I am planning on upgrading my current breaker box (100 amp, push-matic style) to a new 200 amp Square D or Siemans box. (The house has a 200A feed). Are there any codes, etc I need to make sure to follow when replacing this box? Can I just call the utility and have them shut it off and back on? Will they need it inspected? I'm an electrical engineer in the substation field so I have a very good working knowledge of AC, just not as much on the code part (my breakers trip at 3000 Amp).

Any tips, pointers, etc would be greatly appreciated.
And my house was built in 1975 in the Kansas City area (on the Kansas side).

Any suggestions on brand? I know a lot of people prefer Square D. I just threw out Siemans because they make a lot of the breakers I use in the field.

-Matt

Chris75

Electrician
Reaction score
Are there any codes, etc I need to make sure to follow when replacing this box?
yes, you can find them in the NEC.
Can I just call the utility and have them shut it off and back on?
Probably...
Will they need it inspected?
Yes
I'm an electrical engineer in the substation field so I have a very good working knowledge of AC, just not as much on the code part (my breakers trip at 3000 Amp).

Not even close to being the same deal... Electrical Engineer = Electrician

Any tips, pointers, etc would be greatly appreciated.
And my house was built in 1975 in the Kansas City area (on the Kansas side).

Any suggestions on brand? I know a lot of people prefer Square D. I just threw out Siemans because they make a lot of the breakers I use in the field.

-Matt

Good Luck... :)

Bill Arden

Computer Programmer
Reaction score
Website
www.billarden.com
I'm an electrical engineer in the substation field so I have a very good working knowledge of AC, just not as much on the code part (my breakers trip at 3000 Amp).