Need some advice

Users who are viewing this thread

mziese1

Reaction score
This past July my wife and I hired a contractor to finish our basement. It was already plumbed for a bath so we decided to put in a full bath, tub, toilet and vanity. We were taking bids on someone doing the bathroom and my contractor said that he could do it and for about $600 less then the other bids we received. We asked him if he had done baths before and he said he had not only referbed old ones, but had also done new installs too. Since the rest of his work was above par, we decided... why not. Save a few hundred bucks.. Well I think we made a big mistake. Around this past Thanksgiving he stopped showing up. We called him a dozen times at various numbers and even emailed him. But no reply. It's like the earth just swallowed him up. This left us in a dilemma to say the least. I am a good carpenter and handy man. I use to build houses from the ground up. Rough framing and finish. But I have never worked on installing bathrooms. Minor plumbing around the house yeah, but not tiling. I told my wife that I would try and finish it up myself since I am now on a fixed income. I went to work to finish up the shower wall. That is when I started noticing things. The tile used on the walls is a 12x12 porcelian. All the threads I have come across on installing tiles in a shower/tub surround suggest using a Durarock board, which the disappearing contrator did use. And also spacing the tiles 1/16 to no more then 1/8" apart. Here is the problem(s). Some of the tiles have as much as 1/4" gap which was covered up with grout. Others have less the 1/32" gaps. Well actually these tiles are butted up againt one another the grout line looked like 1/16 until you scrap a little away and you see that this grout is actaully sitting between the beveled edges of the tile. When I stared to remove the grout he layed in one inside corner (1/4" gap) I noticed that the Durarock boards didn't even meet at the corners an