Clay Soil Pipe for an upstairs toilet

Users who are viewing this thread

DanMerk

Reaction score
Welcome me. New to the forums. I am a homeowner and I have more than average experience with plumbing. I am not a pro, but I love to cut copper and use fire. heh.

I have a question. Can someone give me some advice on cutting a soil pipe I dug up in my basement yesterday? I found an area in my basement where there is a floor drain. It is a 4" pipe with trap and it drains and holds water perfectly. I thought it was going to be cast iron, but after busting up all the concrete near it and digging up the soil I found it is clay pipe. Probably 4".

What we are trying to do is install a toilet on the first floor directly above this drain pipe in the floor which used to be a sink drain at one point back in the 50's. Like I said, its completely operable, but I have never cut clay pipe before. I can rent a pipe chain cutter from a local hardware store, but I am afraid to damage any of the nearby joints from any pressure or torque. Has anyone done this before? When the pipe is cut, I plan on putting a no-hub to PVC/ABS drain pipe and 90deg up out of the floor. Then I will run the necessary pipe up to the closet flange. Below is an image of the pipe I have to cut.

Here is the beginning of the dig. It was an old shower.
06.jpg

This is the hole. I want to cut right after the hub from the trap and put a no-hub connector on to ABS drain.
09.jpg

Construct30

Reaction score
chain cutter will not work think masonary

I would consider total drain replacement.

Last edited:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
A diamond wheel on a grinder would cut through, but not sure they make a fitting to connect from plastic to clay pipe. For cast iron, they make a donut that fits inside the hub, so you wouldn't need to cut, but don't know if an equivalent is made for clay.

Sjsmithjr

In the Trades
Reaction score