Everything BUT the Kitchen sink drain

Users who are viewing this thread

Jeremytl

Scientist
Reaction score
Please help... I'm a novice. Here's the story: Had company over that didn't know we don't have a garbage disposal. It stopped up. I used draino, to very low effects. I went under to investigate and disconnected the white pvc parts that I thought I could fasten back. Ha! Stupid me. So I put it back together, turn on the faucet and the u-shaped drain configuration leaks, just as predicted. What now? Please see photos

Attachments

• IMGP2352 rev4.jpg
    IMGP2352 rev4.jpg
    66.1 KB · Views: 4,303

Patrick88

Plumber
Reaction score
I would replace that Trap and I use that term loosely.

You need to cut the pipe that is going into the wall. I would go about 6" or so from the wall and get a real trap and make it right.

Basement_Lurker

One who lurks
Reaction score
What kind of person would just assume that there is a garbage disposal there and dump a bunch of crap into someone's sink...yuk

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
drain

That conglomeration would stop up even if noone dumped anything down it. But anything they put down the drain would have been stopped by the sink strainer so that is not the problem. You just have a bad drain installation.

Jeremytl

Scientist
Reaction score
so what now?

what should I do? can you elaborate or post a diagram? I am very in-experienced. But I am willing to dig in and try. I already have everything out on the kitchen floor!

Patrick88

Plumber
Reaction score
If you are willing to give it a go. Then I would cut the pipe that goes into the wall a few inches from the wall. Then place a 1.5"X1.5" mission coupling. Some plastic pipe a glue trap union style, and a 1.5" trap adapter. They should sell all of these things at any hardware store or big box home center.

Jeremytl

Scientist
Reaction score
thanks