Switch Placement Advice for Bath Refurb

Users who are viewing this thread

Cakins

Reaction score
Doing my first home remodel, working on the bath room right now. I've changed the floorplan from rectangle to L-shaped and would like some input on the switch placement for the various lights and fan that will be part of the updated room.

You can see a (not-to-scale) quick sketch of the room here:

http://www.extraordinaryimage.com/images/bathSwitches.jpg

My thoughts were to put a 2-gang box just inside the door with a single switch for the overhead light/wall lavatory lights and the receptacle. Then, near the "L" wall direction change, I could put the 2 switches for the tub/shower light and fan timer switch.

To me, that makes a bit more sense than putting them all ganged together in one box.

But, as this is my first project, I'd like to hear input on the pros/cons of this idea.

Also - I had toyed with separating the wall lights from the overhead light, using separate switches. But I'm not sure that makes sense on such a small bathroom. The overall size is about 50 sq. ft. or less.

I was also toying with putting some under the cabinet type lighting in the mix with some shelving I'll be buidling in over the toilet. If I do that, does it make sense to have a separate switch for that? Near the shelves or over by the door.

The vanity area is only going to be 36" wide max. Is one receptacle sufficient, or should I put one on each side?

480sparky

In the Trades
Reaction score
The only suggestions I can make is to be sure the can light over the tub is listed for wet locations. There is a 'shower trim' available. The fan must be kept 3' horizontally from the edge of the tub unless it is also rated for wet locations, which it probably isn't.

Just a suggestion.... why not combine the can light with the fan and install a fan/light combo?

JWelectric

Electrical Contractor/Instructor
Reaction score