3 way switch.. I'm puzzled

Users who are viewing this thread

okiiyama

Reaction score
I'm not an electrician, my friend is and he is puzzled as well....

At my mom's house there is (what should be) a three way switch controlling a light fixture. Following the steps below, this is what happens:

Initial State: Both switches (A & B) are down and the light is off.
Step 1. Flip switch A up -> Light turns on. (A up; B down)
Step 2. Flip switch B up -> Light stays on. (A up; B up)
Step 3. Flip switch B down -> Light stays on. (A up; B down)
Step 4. Flip switch B up -> Light stays on. (A up; B up)
Step 5. Flip switch A down -> Light stays on. (A down; B up)
Step 6. Flip switch B down -> Light turns off. (A down; B down)

I don't have a diagram of the lighting, and also there is another switch in both of the switches receptacles.
So, its A & 1 next to each other and B & 2 next to each other.
- A & B control inside entry light
- 1 controls outside lights
- 2 controls living room wall light.

Does this sound like it could be a common problem or what can I do, or my friend to narrow down the possible errors?

Let me know if you need any more info.

Thanks.

480sparky

In the Trades
Reaction score
You have a three-way miswired. Here's how to correct the problem:

1. Shut off the power and remove the wires from the switches. There will be three wires to each (not counting the ground if there is one.)

2. Turn the power back on, and one of the 6 wires will be hot. Mark that wire as 'common.' Turn the power back off.

3. Hook the 'common' wire to the common terminal of the switch. The terminal will either be marked 'common' or be a different color than the other two.

4. Hook the other two wires to the other two terminals. It doesn't matter which goes where.

5. Turn the power back on, and go the the other 3 wires. One will be hot. Move the switch at the other location, and another wire will be hot. Mark the wire that was never hot as 'common'.