Re: tankless water heaters
Posted by mss on October 11, 2001 at 01:24:23:
In response to Re: tankless water heaters
I've been running a tankless heater from TAKAGI for several years. Love it but you must be aware of a few things...

1: Turning on the hot tap for even an instant fires the burner and heats water in the standard installation. My mother in law spends a great deal of time at my house and she has a habit of turning on the faucet about 50 times a day. This causes the water heater to cycle excessively and literally wore out the porportional gas valve in one year. This constant cycling also blows any extra efficiency that the tankless heater has right out the window- thus not saving you any money.

2: Demand fired hot water is hard to control- water takes a few seconds go from dead cold to hot and the first few cups of water is generally not at the "set temperature"- it's usually hotter. This can be a problem (or dangerous) if you have kids or sensitive adults in the house. I added a mixing valve to regulate it.

3: In daily use, with multiple bathrooms with several residents in the house, you will not like the way a demand water heater works. Flow is limited- in my case to 5.5 GPM at 140 degrees F- Turning the water on or off and possibly having two faucets turning on or off at nearly the same time can result in a "stuck" or fooled demand controller resulting in no hot water or T&P valve opening. Once the T&P opens on a demand system, the heater will run until your gas bill comes if you don't notice it.