Workaround dropped pipe on well?

Users who are viewing this thread

rpd

Reaction score
Noob here. Local well guys not returning calls for help on a dropped pipe (1 1/4" steel, 3-inch well, 70' deep) from a previous piston pump and well installed over 60 yrs ago. Pipe is 35' down in 12' of water. Top of well is 23' 8" from the water. I want to re-purpose the well for lawn/garden. This SE Michigan, metro Detroit.

Vid feed from sewer cam (pic)
IMG_20160610_140251056.jpg
shows pipe leaning against casing with a rod and flange on top (top near middle of screen). Can't get an interior or exterior hold. Am advised the sediment/muck/calcium etc make it a crapshoot at best to get out as it is.

Two questions: With a new deep jet pump/equipment on standby, (1 1/4 galv pipe, 1/2 HP 3.2 gpm) can I get by with the footvalve and ejector sitting in 12 feet of water above the dropped pipe, or is that futile? Not a super deep well, but recovery rate is a question mark. Never an issue with the predeccessor.)

Otherwise, an earlier thread on a similar issue suggested "airlifting" by using poly pipe and an air compressor? What's the setup? Any thoughts/ideas for this fishing expedition are appreciated.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
You will need the ejector on two pipes down the well with a foot valve. And it will work if that 12' of water doesn't go away when you start pumping. But a single pipe jet pump can only lift from 20-24' max.

rpd

Reaction score
You will need the ejector on two pipes down the well with a foot valve. And it will work if that 12' of water doesn't go away when you start pumping. But a single pipe jet pump can only lift from 20-24' max.