Why would anyone buy a high efficiency water softener?

Users who are viewing this thread

ridler77

Reaction score
Are my numbers off? From a previous post I calculated I need 2880 grains / day, and am looking at 1 cuft systems (32000grains).

I'm an engineer, and love to optimize solutions. So I've been looking for the most efficient water softener and have come across this one.

US Water Systems Fusion NLT http://www.uswatersystems.com/fusion-nlt-metered-water-softener.html . It's supposed to be smart and only recharge using only as much salt as needed, and uses counter flow regen, but not with soft water. The manual lists the regen specs of 25000 grains @ 6 lbs. This would recharge every 8.7 days using 42 cycles and 252 lbs of salt. It costs $1100.

They also have a standard metered solution http://www.uswatersystems.com/matrixx-premium-grade-metered-water-softener.html. This regens 20000 grains per 6lbs of salt. It would recharge every 6.9 days using 53 cycles and 315 lbs of salt. This one costs $795.

The difference is only 63 lbs of salt @ $5 / bag = $8 / year difference (neglecting water usage). This $8/year gets a 10 year warranty, and lifetime resin.

Doesn't seem like a bargain to me... Are there other, cheaper high efficiency systems out there? Or is high efficiency a waste of money?

Reach4

Reaction score
It's supposed to be smart and only recharge using only as much salt as needed, and uses counter flow regen, but not with soft water.

I think pretty much all softeners use counterflow regen. I think pretty much all single tank softeners use unsoftened water to regen.

Mialynette2003

In the Trades
Reaction score
I think pretty much all softeners use counterflow regen. I think pretty much all single tank softeners use unsoftened water to regen.