what to do with my well???

Users who are viewing this thread

wellgirl

Reaction score
Just a little info to start, I brought this house a few years back as a repo so I was given no info as to how or when this well was put in. I have since found out it is a bored well dug in 1992 at approx 50 ft deep. I have very little knowledge about wells, as had city water till this home.

I believe that I run the well dry a few weeks back, had little water but lots of sand coming into the house. Didn't worry to much as I was going away for a few weeks thought it would come back while i was gone. When I came home had water for about 20 mins, someone told me to drop a truck load of water into the well to maybe move any blockages. So I did, also told to go prime my pump which is located about 40 ft from the well in the basment of my house. I have 2 lines that go out from the basement the run to the well underground, you can look down my well about 12 ft and you do not see these lines. I cannot get the pump to take a prime. Not sure what to do to fix it, it was said to me that maybe the foot valve is no good but if thats the problem how to I access the foot valve? Is it ok to pull both lines up inside the house or do I need someone to dig up outside around the well to access these line?

I am hoping that there is a standard way that this system is installed and that someone out there can tell me what kind of parts were used in this type of well. There is no well service person in my town for me to call the closest is a couple hours away and just to get him to look is $500. Any help would be great.

Thanks

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
Welcome to Terry's Forums.

What Model of pump do you have ?

Is the pump running all of the time ?

You could have a leak on the suction line.

It is a bit hard to tell from here.

What fun it is to own a repo.

Reach4

Reaction score