What should I be hearing & how often from my well?

Users who are viewing this thread

BatesOKC

Reaction score
We moved into a home on a water well a couple of years ago. I have very little experience with these (as in zero).

The other day I was messing around the well in the front yard and realized I could hear some mechanical noise coming from it. Nothing real loud, and you have to be within a foot or two, but it was quiet outside, so I noticed it. I removed the plastic cap from the well to confirm and the noise was of course more noticeable with the cap removed. To me, it sounds identical to the sound of a babies heart beat in the womb when we'd listen to it at the doctor. Very rhythmic with an air flow sound.

I assumed I probably just never noticed it before and since the sprinklers were going I thought everything was fine.

However, this morning I checked and I can still hear the noise and no water is running on the property.

Is this normal and I'm being paranoid or do I need a service call?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
With no water being used, look at your pressure gauge. Then look at it a half hour later. Does it stay the same, or drop.

If it drops, that will explain things. If it rose, the pump went on during that interval. How often does the pump run with no water being used?

If the pressure does not drop, is there a check valve at the pressure tank in the pipe coming from the well? If you don't know, post a picture of your pressure tank input, pressure gauge, pressure switch and a few feet of incoming pipe.

BatesOKC

Reaction score
With no water being used, look at your pressure gauge. Then look at it a half hour later. Does it stay the same, or drop.

If it drops, that will explain things. If it rose, the pump went on during that interval. How often does the pump run with no water being used?