What is this part?

Discussion in 'Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & ' started by crankycowboy, Nov 24, 2012.

1. crankycowboy

crankycowboy New Member

Hey guys. First I need to give the disclaimer that I'm not a plumbing professional. I would say I'm an above average DIY guy who has taken on some large projects for myself. Recently my wife noticed the ground outside our house pretty wet. We had also noticed our water bill had gone up substantially. So I started to dig down where the ground was the wettest and found a valve box with a inline valve and some other sort of check valve, or some other kind of item in-line. whatever this is, has a couple pin holes in it. I am posting a picture because I'm wondering what it is. The repair is rather straight forward, I just don't know what I'm looking for as a replacement part. Any help is appreciated. Oh, by the way, this is right in front of my house just before the slab. photo.JPG
  2. jadnashua

jadnashua Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx

WHere is the water meter...I'm assuming with the leak and your increased bill, it's closer to the street. Often, before the meter, the city is responsible. I can't tell from the picture what you have. It could be a pressure reduction valve, a check valve, or, if you have a sprinkler system, maybe a backflow preventer.
  3. crankycowboy

crankycowboy New Member

Meter is near the street. This leaking part is just in front of my house, right in front of the slab. On the back side of the leaking part (closest to the house) is another needle valve (just like one you would see at a faucet to turn on your water hose).
  4. jadnashua

jadnashua Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx

A close up, in focus, and we'd have a better chance of identifying what's there.
  5. DonL

DonL Jack of all trades Master of one

What ever it is seems like it should not be buried, If it is off of the main line.

It could be a shutoff valve that the city owns.