Well pump cycle

Users who are viewing this thread

Ramz28

Reaction score
Hi everyone. Im new to owning a house with a well system. It seems straight foward but complicated.. hopefully all you gurus can help me. Ive lived here for 8 months with no water problems except for very high tds meter reading if that matters (550ish). Heres the story:

I took a hot shower,nothing long or fancy my typical shower. When i came out i heard my pump running. My wife went and took a shower and she said the water turned off 3 times. When i turned on the sink no water came out. I hear the pump turn on and off every 45secs or so. It stays running for 45s and then off. It foes that till it reaches 60psi. The pump is set to 40-60.

I have drained all the water from well tank and checked air pressure its 38psi. I turned pump back on went to 41psi and started to cycle on and off until it reached 60. No water was being used during the test. What should i be looking for ? Is this a common problem? Simple fix? Any other info you need plz let me know. Thanks..

Ramz28

Reaction score
Gray box is pressure switch? What would be the clogged nipple? Thanks

Attachments

• 20150831_203359.jpg
    20150831_203359.jpg
    79.3 KB · Views: 121

Reach4

Reaction score
I did not follow your symptoms myself, but I hope you fix your pressure problem. Pressure switches are cheap if the problem is the switch.

Since you are a new well owner, I suggest a water test of your raw well water:
K-60 http://www.karlabs.com/watertestkit/ To measure softness yourself, the Hack 5B test is really good, but the lab test covers a lot more than softness. You will want to measure softness after your softener at times.

Maybe you already have some treatment equipment that came with the house.

I also suggest sanitizing your system at some point.

Craigpump

In the Trades
Reaction score
You're far better off with a local lab, bacteria must be set ASAP after sampling, within 24 hours and it should be kept chilled.