Waxless Fluidmaster for old Norris toilet

Users who are viewing this thread

Shawn Morgan

Reaction score
Got a Norris brand toilet, 30yo condo, I'm a newb. But read Terry's suggestion on placing the fluidmaster on toilet and then into the pipe, gave that a try. Either on toilet or off, far as installing, either way toilet remains off the floor an inch or little less. I put the 4" sleeve into the pipe with o-ring, and the top is flush with flange. Then attached the 3" sleeve onto the horn, and tried to install it that way. It did get closer, 1/2" or less, but there's still no goin. I'm seeing stress fractures in the 3" main body under red rubber valve area. Lastly, I tried to stick just the 3" sleeve into the pipe and it won't go flush by itself. I dunno if this means I need to get that wax crap, I looked over the box again, made no mention of brands or exclusions. Only thing I thought could change things is enough rust/crud on the inner circumference of the flange is enough to hold it up, or I could build a base for the toilet, maybe. Only fluidmaster and wax ring removed is only changes in any hardware.

Thanks for the help

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I'm seeing stress fractures in the 3" main body under red rubber valve area.

So why are you reinstalling the problem waiting to flood your unit?

If the Fluidmaster doesn't allow it to make floor contact, then you will need to use wax.
However, so many of the old Mansfield bowls that I installed in the 70's are now starting to break up.

norris_side.jpg

I installed a lot of these toilets in the 1970's
It's a Norris 5.0 gallon flush toilet, builder grade two piece toilet.
I see a lot of them showing cracking in the glaze and in the porcelain.

Last edited:

Shawn Morgan

Reaction score