Water Softener Sizing

Users who are viewing this thread

Phanman

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to water softeners, and have been trying to do my research but alot of these calculations seem confusing. I thought I could bypass most of it by getting something something oversized but then i hear the resin can get "channeled" so that didn't work.

Some information
  • 2 adults, 1 toddler (expecting try for another child next year)
  • 2.5 bathroom (ensuite has 2 rain shower heads, 2 wall shower heads)
  • Steam generator (for ensuite shower)
  • washer machine
  • dishwasher
  • Avg of 11.76 water hardness based on city website
  • I would say 80 gal of water/person/day as wife likes to take 20-30min showers
On avg I would say we would have 3 shower heads going at once and the washing machine, but at times their maybe 4 shower heads going at once and a washing machine.

I wanted to get the Fleck 5600SXT 24,000 Grain capacity based on the calculator here http://www.qualitywatertreatment.com/water_softener_sizing.htm I thought I got everything figured out then on to picking the valve size and read "If you have multiple body sprayers or shower heads in the shower stall then choose the high flow Fleck 7000SXT Water softener" then throw out all the calculations and get the 48,000 to 80,000 grain capacity. A Fleck 7000 1.25" 48,000 grain capacity water softener will give you a service flow rate of 18 GPM at a 15 pound pressure drop. Most multiple body sprayers need 15 GPM to operate properly. A 64,000 grain system will give you 20 gpm and an 80,000 grain capacity will give you 24 GPM.

Im leaning towards the 7000SXT 64,000 grain capacity so I dont get a 15 pound pressure drop.

Would love some advice if I've chosen the correct capacity and water softener to go with.

Edit: Also when it says get a 1.25" 48,000 grain capacity is it talking about the plumbing adapter being 1.25"?

Thanks in advance

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score