Water Softener Self installation

Discussion in 'Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and r' started by chubyball, Jun 18, 2009.

1. chubyball

chubyball New Member

Is it possible to install Water Softener by myself? Anyone here ever done it?
  2. jimbo

jimbo Plumber

It will involve cutting in to your cold water supply pipe at a location such that all the house water, and NOT the water for the outside faucets, is softened. That will involve soldering to your copper pipes. Then you must route the drain tubing to a code-approved drain location.

Almost everywhere in the country, you are ALLOWED to do this, AND you are REQUIRED to get a local permit.
  3. Gary Slusser

Gary Slusser That's all folks!

I've been selling water treatment to DIYers for at least 6+ years and they install it per my very detailed instructions without problems. Or they hire a plumber.

It is simple water line plumbing and in many instances you don't have to solder, you can use compression fittings or Shark Bite or similar types of fittings. Or you can learn to solder in about 20-30 minutes, I send everyone a link to a Windows movie that runs about 15 minutes and teaches how to solder. Or you can use corrugated flexible SS or copper tubing and not solder.

I very rarely hear of a customer or a plumber they hire, getting a permit.
  4. nhmaster

nhmaster Master Plumber

As with any alteration of the "potable" water supply, an understanding of cross connection and backflow are key elements in doing the job safely. Permits are required pretty much everywhere to do this type of work. In NH a license is required to do this kind of work. Improperly installed, the installation could lead to a multitude of problems.
  5. hj

hj Moderator & Master Plumber Staff Member

softener

The biggest factor to be concerned with is making sure you get the water flowing through the softener in the correct direction, which may NOT be the easiest way to connect it to the existing water pipes.