water siphoned out of trap in basement floor

Users who are viewing this thread

Lyn12

Reaction score
Hello. I have replaced all my plumbing through the house and new sewer pipes under the basement floor to the street. The house still smells like sewer gas. I filled the tap in the basement drain up and a week later it was gone. I had the house smoke tested and a camera run down the trap to the street. Everything looked good. No leaks. On plumber said it might be a venting issue. What do you think? Have any ideas?

Attachments

• Sewer pipes under concrete.jpg
    Sewer pipes under concrete.jpg
    116.1 KB · Views: 68
  • Sewer pipes3.jpg
    Sewer pipes3.jpg
    129 KB · Views: 61

Reach4

Reaction score
There is something called a trap filler.

There are also waterless floor drain trap seals, which might be insertable. I will let you search that out. I have no relevant experience.

Personally, I would consider running an ozone generator for a while as you leave for a while. They usually have a timer to shut themselves off after a while. You don't want to breath much ozone, but I think it decays while you are away.

Lyn12

Reaction score
There is something called a trap filler.

There are also waterless floor drain trap seals, which might be insertable. I will let you search that out. I have no relevant experience.

Personally, I would consider running an ozone generator for a while as you leave for a while. They usually have a timer to shut themselves off after a while. You don't want to breath much ozone, but I think it decays while you are away.
Ozone to kill the sewer gas germs?

Reach4

Reaction score
I was thinking to kill smells that may linger into the wood and concrete.

But from an identification point of view, you could try refilling your trap every 2 to 4 days for a while. If the odor stays away, that would support the idea that the water evaporating or sloshing out of the trap was the only odor cause.