Water heater - No water coming out

Users who are viewing this thread

Paresh

Reaction score
Hi

I am a newbie DIY as it relates to plumbing - but am in general handy with tools and other items at home.

Last evening the hot water across all the faucets stopped (except for trickles). I flushed the water heater and it seemed fine. As soon as I close the water inlet valve, the flushing stops and as I open the valve the flushing comes back on. Based on this I presume the water is going in the heater. I cannot figure out if the water coming out is an issue. I don't think the faucet or other pipes are clogged (I back flushed the faucets using a dime to push the cold water through and it seemed to be fine).

I opened the hot water line on top of the heater and it had a triangular plastic piece in the water heater - wasn't sure if something is getting stuck on the output in the water heater - I couldnt pull it out and was worried about breaking something there. The other thing I also noted was the tank doesn't seem to hold much water (it is a Rheem 40 gal). As soon as I start flushing, if I stop the inlet valve, it immediately stops . This is even after waiting 30-45 minutes of no flush, in which case I would presume the tank should be filled and the flushing should continue just from the tank even if I close the inlet valve.

Any advice / help on this one? I probably will have a plumber come and look at it later today.

thx in advance
Paresh

Reach4

Reaction score
What happens if the drain is open, the supply valve is closed, and you open the hot water tap in the kitchen or laundry sink?

I get the impression that most plumbers don't repair water heaters. How old is your WH?

What is that bit about the dime? Are you sticking coins in your plumbing????

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
To drain a WH, you need to let air get into it for the water in it to drain out...otherwise, it's sort of like your finger on the end of a straw.