Water Heater Electrical Connection Issues.

Users who are viewing this thread

Kris Van

Reaction score
Hello All,

New here, need some advise. Please help.

About 2 weeks ago my water heater quit working. When I checked it out small rain drop per half hour had developed on the hose feeding hot water to the house. The person that installed the water heater - before I bought the house - did not use thread compound of any type. The water worked itself across the top of the water heater and into the little compartment where the electrical connection is tucked away. The breaker tripped thankfully because this happed while no one was home.

Being the handy person I 'think' I am, I corrected the leak, cut the end off the fried wire and made fresh connections. I am not an electrician so I was careful to connect everything exactly as it was before.

Then last night I just happed to be standing 10 ft from the water heater when sparks flew out from under the compartment cover. I went to check of the breaker and it had not tripped. Yikes. The interesting part is that there was no leak this time, just an electrical short.

I left the breaker off - it was 11PM and I needed to get to bed for 5AM wake up. I am a little befuddled that in the previous 3 years of living in the home we had no issues, and after making the connections exactly as before, we now have issues.

Can someone tell me if the connection was done incorrectly? or if the previous water induced short may have contributed to this redo? I have attached a couple of photos. Please help.
Thanks,
Kris
IMG_1292.JPG
IMG_1293.JPG

Kris

Whirlpool model E2F40RD045V.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com