Water hammer, or machine gun?

Users who are viewing this thread

Ejody

Reaction score
Hi,

Not pretending to have any plumbing knowledge here so thanks for clear advice to a complete layman!
We have city water. All the sudden our pressure is lower and now when I turn on the water-- sink, shower, outdoor garden hose-- the water pressure quickly cycles up and down like a massage shower head.

Our home was built in 2003. No water softener filters or anything.

I do hear loud noise from what appears to be a pressure reducing valve in our garage.
20151118_094719.jpg
20151118_094712.jpg

(A) What could be causing this issue?
20151118_094712.jpg
20151118_094719.jpg

(B) Is it something I can fix myself (I have basic handyman skills, but no soldering or welding or cutting pipe)
(C) If it's beyond my skill level do I need to hire a full-on licensed plumber ($$)

Thanks for any quick replies!

P.S. Don't assume I know what any plumbing parts are called, abbreviations, etc.
I'm an expert on some things and this ain't one of them!

THANK YOU!

Reach4

Reaction score
I would also look to your PRV. What is the brand and model info from the tag on the PRV? I am not a plumber.

Ejody

Reaction score
I would also look to your PRV. What is the brand and model info from the tag on the PRV? I am not a plumber.
Thank you. Photo attached here.

Watts Model DUS (?)

Attachments

• 2015-11-18 10.49.02.jpg
    2015-11-18 10.49.02.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 140
  • 2015-11-18 10.49.02.jpg
    2015-11-18 10.49.02.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 159

Sluggo

Reaction score