Water getting sucked out of bowl

Users who are viewing this thread

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
Hello to the forum. Thanks Terry for providing it.

I have two toilets, One works fine, and one not so good. I have a septic tank system.

Both toilets are on the same level, ground floor. About 20 feet apart.

The one closest to my septic tank (20 feet away) flushes slow then gets the water sucked out of it, and has a low water level after flushing. The one 40 feet away works fine.

Could it be a venting problem ?

Thanks for any clues.

Plumbs Away

Reaction score
I'm not a pro plumber but I have experienced this before. The first time, there was a hairline fracture somewhere in the throat of my toilet and water would S-L-O-W-L-Y drain from the bowl between flushes. I've also noticed that high winds blowing across the vent stack on the roof sometimes cause the water level in the bowl to drop.

Reaction score
Without being on-site in your home, I can't tell what your drain schematic is, and I can't tell how many vents you have as sometimes homes have a mainstack and auxillary vents, nor which one each toilet uses.

I assume the bad toilet was fine long ago before. This is important to know.

A clogged drain can cause indirect venting issues too, ie., something between your bad toilet and the vent is clogged or fatberged.

DonL

Reaction score
Without being on-site in your home, I can't tell what your drain schematic is, and I can't tell how many vents you have as sometimes homes have a mainstack and auxillary vents, nor which one each toilet uses.

I assume the bad toilet was fine long ago before. This is important to know.

A clogged drain can cause indirect venting issues too, ie., something between your bad toilet and the vent is clogged or fatberged.

It has been working for 38 years or so.

They are both full baths.