Water flows when pump is off

Users who are viewing this thread

Michago

Reaction score
Hi, I winterize my dad's summer cabin each year, by using a dip tube to drain the 1" feed from his submersible pump, right where it enters his house at the floor. I've been doing this for 35 years, but this year, a couple days after doing it, there was a trickle of water coming out of the pipe, enough to fill a drink cup in about 30 seconds. He doesn't heat the house all winter, so I will soon have a problem! Even if I were to put heat tapes on the pipe, the water level this high means that the water level at the well is also this high, which is about at grade level, so the coming cold weather will damage the well pipe as well! Any ideas? Power to the pump is definitely shut off, I think maybe there's enough ground pressure to force water up, or something.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
The water in the lines should come up no higher than the water level in the well. Maybe your bladder tank is busted and the water from the bladder is slowly leaking out and refilling the lines.

Reach4

Reaction score
That makes sense... probably more probable than the artesian well I was wondering about.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
I'd buy into the busted bladder if not for the following... 2 cups per minute, days later.
a couple days after doing it, there was a trickle of water coming out of the pipe, enough to fill a drink cup in about 30 seconds.
I'd open the wellhead and try to determine the water level in relation to the end of the pipe. There could possibly be gravity flow if the water level is high enough. If there is a hydrant at the wellhead open it otherwise lift the pump off the pitless, put a schrader valve on the pipe in the house and blow the line with air.

Michago

Reaction score