Washing machine suds from upstairs draining into kitchen sink

Users who are viewing this thread

valrulez

Reaction score
Hi Guys.

Great forum and website! Thanks Terry! Long time lurker from Seattle and first time poster. I know you guys appreciate comments that get to the point, so here is mine:

Here's the scenario:

1. New triplex built in 2009
2. My washing machine is located upstairs to the left, above kitchen sink.
3. Last night used too much Dr Bronners Sal Suds plus Oxy Clean.
4. Resulted in a mess of foam coming out of upstairs drain hose and onto floor.
5. Came downstairs and noticed foam coming from sink drains.
6. Ran washing machine again with clear water, and noticed no obstructions, clogging.

I know the upstairs washing machine drains near the sink/dishwasher.

My questions of concern (since I am a plumbing newbie) is:

1. Is there a potential problem? Or just too much soap?
2. Is there a health hazard, meaning the bubbles went down the sewer and back up? My dishes were in the sink at the time. I know our main waste line (Toilet/Bathroom) runs in a separate pipe. Our neighbors have separate pipes too.

Never had a problem with suds from upstairs washing machine, but guess this was the brilliance of adding way too much soap that suds.

Thank you for your time!

Val

Last edited:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score