Wanting to pump water.

Users who are viewing this thread

crazyfarmermm

Reaction score
Hello guys, I am looking for a little advice or to find out if I am crazy. I am a farmer who is trying to clean my act up a little, begin rotational grazing, and limit animal access to stream water. This may take some time and will likely be a several step process. I currently have a nice freshwater spring that was formerly used to provide water to 2 houses and no longer in use. It currently has a 1,000 gallon water storage tank buried underground that gravity feeds from the spring. At this location I have easy access to electricity. My ideas are to use another water storage tank with a deep well pump and floats for protection. Am I crazy? Would I need a pressure tank? At peak I think I will pump 900 gallons per day. I am sure you may need more information. Please help me think this through, thank you.

Attachments

• water project.jpg
    water project.jpg
    86.8 KB · Views: 242

Reach4

Reaction score
I think you are proposing to have the water from the pump wye off with one leg feeding the lower trough via a float-controlled valve and the other output leg feeding the higher trough with no valve. The upper trough will have a float switch that controls the relay at the pump house, and the relay controls the pump.

crazyfarmermm

Reaction score
I think you are proposing to have the water from the pump wye off with one leg feeding the lower trough via a float-controlled valve and the other output leg feeding the higher trough with no valve. The upper trough will have a float switch that controls the relay at the pump house, and the relay controls the pump.

I don't plan on using both tanks at the same time as I would like to rotationally graze the pasture fields, however I don't want to limit myself from being able to do so in the event a need were to arise. Would it be possible to pressurize the system?

Reach4

Reaction score