Venting and existing drain connection concerns

Users who are viewing this thread

RSC

Reaction score
removed a 32x32 fiberglass shower,expanded another 1.5 feet ( I work as a mason when other work is slow) I planned on installing new trap 180 from existing shower trap and instating a mud pan liner.....tilting shower tile floor. Previous shower leaked.. Seems water ran down from p-trap area.
If not for the leak I would have only removed a small area behind toilet, but to explore source I removed most of the floor... House was buildt in 1984 and picture is of the plumbing .
Concerned about no sink vent which is above recipicating saw, it drains somewhere down line I imagine.
Also concerned about the whole shower drain set up connected to toilet without vent also.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    103.9 KB · Views: 461

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The toilet should have gone into a wye fitting, not a san tee. On the horizontal like that, the waste tends to go both ways.
The lav needs a vent.

Some examples
dwv_b1.jpg

Last edited:

RSC

Reaction score
The toilet should have gone into a wye fitting, not a san tee. On the horizontal like that, the waste tends to go both ways.
The lav needs a vent.
At is what I thought. Where can I or should I connect the shower line... Was going to vent to attic and tie to existing vent
You cut the picture off so we cannot see the sink drain to tell if there is a vent or not.
The sink is not vented. One must be added.
I am concerned about the shower line going into the toilet and what to do about it.
Waste line continues trough the wall under the floor , it does not drop anywhere nearby

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
quote; The sink is not vented. One must be added.

Are you an expert in venting? Things CAN be vented but the neophyte would not recognize it. SHOW us a picture of the sink drain line. But, your shower is NOT vented.

RSC