Tub Spout Installation Problem

Users who are viewing this thread

Scullysioux

Reaction score
I am trying to replace my tub diverter spout. It is an American Standard and so is the old one. I got the old spout removed and am trying to figure out how to install the new one. The pipe sticking out of the wall has no threads or anything. The old spout has something inside it that slips over the pipe and then there is a screw at the bottom that holds it on to the pipe. The new spout is totally empty inside. Am I supposed to use the guts from the old spout or do I have to buy this separately? I can't get the insides from the old spout out. The instructions that came with the faucet are crappy as usual. Help please!

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Hey, I'm not a pro, but from what I hear, there are basically two types of connections. Slip-on's that have a o-ring for the water connection, and a set screw to hold it in place, or those that screw on with a pipe fitting. If your new one has a setscrew to hold it in place, it should have an o-ring there to seal it as well. Now, there's probably other versions or ways to do things. Check if there are threads on the recesses of your spout if there isn't a setscrew to hold it. If it has internal threads, then you'll need to add the male fitting to the stub coming out of the wall. Getting it the right length so that it tightens up where you want it with no gap at the wall takes some skill. Did the spout come with installation instructions? or what does it say on the packaging? That should give yo uan idea of how it should be attached.

Scullysioux

Reaction score
Thanks, for the feedback. Well, I got the insides out of the old spout and inserted them into the thread of the new spout. All the new spout consists of is the spout with a thread inside near where the water comes out and at the wall end there is a hole to screw in the set screw. It did not come with a set screw however.