Tub Drain Connection in concrete slab

Users who are viewing this thread

bmillice

Reaction score
Hello, newbie here, so I appreciate any advice you pros could give!

I am remodeling a bathroom in my house and will be replacing the tub/tub drain as well. However, I am confused as to what I found when I demo'd the old stuff. I am attaching pictures, but I cannot tell how the old brass assembly is connected to the drain. And, more importantly, how would I attach a new drain assembly to what is coming out of the ground here? My early guess is to cut it off and use a Fernco banded coupler?

IMG_2363.JPG

IMG_2364.JPG

(and yes, that is a termite-destroyed sill plate behind the drain. The sills and studs were pretty torn up-it will be replaced before putting the new tub in.)

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
First off, good pics! If only new members like you put the effort to post pics. This is exactly why you are getting an answer. I literally ignore new members that try to describe a picture with a thousand words.

You're going to toss that old tee, as that will be replaced by your new tub drain from os&b, whoever. A grinder is your friend here to remove that old tee.

Try to save that short brass that is calked into the flared lead pipe, you may be able to slip your new compression tee onto it.

So I would do that first, and if it's apples and oranges then cut below the flare on the lead pipe, and Fernco to that.

c_g_lima

Reaction score
If you don't mind my intrusion in this discussion, I understand this is a lot more work, but would it be better to completely remove that galvanized drain pipe all the way to the trap and use one of those service weight gaskets/donuts to connect a PVC/ABS drain pipe? I am assuming the trap is cast iron.