Toto Toilet Flapper Issue

Users who are viewing this thread

adeutsch

Reaction score
Hi,

i've had my Toto toilet for about a year now and I'm noticing a couple of issues. They are most probably related but I'm no expert or for that matter a novice either.

Basically my toilet will run constantly because after flushing the stopper will not cover the hole completely. When i make the slight adjustment by hand it stops running, which makes sense. However, sometimes the tank wont re-fill after flushing and the bowl wont flush but has a constant drain. The water continuously runs but the tank does not fill up. I figure its just running straight through the tank through the bowl and then down the drain. I can not stop this action and am forced to shut off the water supply. After a few minutes wiht the water turned off it returns to normal function.

I'm sure i can adjust the stopper or get a new stopper to cover the hole and that should deal with the first problem, but i think i have a much larger issue with the fill valve and the internal workings.

Any idea of what i should do? It's kind of annoying when your toilet works correctly only 10% of the time.

thanks in advance for your responses.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Trouble shooting

Fill the tank, turn off water supply at the wall and take a note of how high the water is in the tank.

If the water level drops in the tank, then that needs to be addressed first.

If the water level stays in the tank, turn the water supply back on, and see if the fill valve is shutting off consistently.
The water in the tank, should stay below the overflow tube.
If the water keeps overfilling, then the fill valve needs work.
It could need a simple cleaning, or a part, or even replacement.
Can you post a picture here less then 800 x 800 pixels as an attachment of the inside of the tank.

adeutsch

Reaction score
Thanks for your reply.