Top Element Electrical

Discussion in 'Water Heater Forum, Tanks' started by BillM, Oct 10, 2010.

1. BillM

BillM New Member

Good morning All.....
    I'm attempting (1st time novice) to replace Lower element on a GE water heater......shower goes cold after about 15 minutes......from what I've read, and testing of lower element with multi-meter, its shot......so I'm currently draining water heater, and ready to install lower element.....

I thought I'd replace upper as well, since I'm 1/2 way thru this project as I write this......just got back from HD with an upper element......when I went to disconnect red power, I got some 'minor' sparking......scared me enough to back off of it, but I'm no electrician or plumber? Lower element disconnected without any sparking........a bit nervous, to say the least.....breaker at circuit panel has been shut off, and elements reading 0 volts on the meter.....

Am I ok to pull out upper element, just to do preventative maintenance, or am I in over my head right now? Whats with the minor sparking?

Thanks in advance!

-Bill
  2. Terry

Terry Administrator Staff Member

Are you sure you have the right breaker off?
  3. Redwood

Redwood Master Plumber

What does your meter say the voltage is on the 2 upper screws on the upper thermostat where the power is connected at?
  4. BillM

BillM New Member

Yes....breaker is "off"......all water now drained from the water heater......I'm thinking I'm just going for the lower element, and go with the theory of "if it isn't broken, don't try to fix it".......so, I'll stay away from top element......
  5. Thatguy

Thatguy Homeowner

. . . probably because it has failed to an open circuit, like your multimeter said. Open circuit = no current = no sparks.

The sparking top element is probably still good, but you can check it more precisely with your meter using the resistance function. Ohms = voltage squared divided by power.
    For 240 V and 4500 W you should get 12 to 13 ohms.