Too much for a DIY'er?

Users who are viewing this thread

Gordon

Reaction score
I have a Cast iron soil stack 3" going from the basement to the roof. No turns angles,nothing but a straight stack. 2nd floor has a tub, toilet and sink. 1st has a kitchen sink. Since the bell of the cast iron is so large, builders framed around it. I really need the space this framing takes up. I was considering duplicating the whole stack/drain in 3" PVC. Is this within the scope of a fairly handy guy? Or call in the pro? I'd hate to say it looks easy,which it does, but that's when problems begin! Thanks, Gordon.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
I'm not a pro, but I think you would be okay. First, though, I'd double check the codes to see if the 3" still meets code for the number and type of fixtures that you have. Actually changing it out shouldn't be that hard, but passing code because you made a change, it has to be up to current standards. Maybe you are, maybe you aren't. Check first. Connecting from the pvc to the cast iron is fairly easy, cutting the old stuff out can be a pain without experience, but is doable.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Three inch plastic fittings take up less space than the the cast iron hubs, but not all that much. The outside of a 3" fitting is still going to be 4 1/16"

You must need the room pretty bad to go to that much trouble.
How much space will you be gaining?

The amount of work to change that is considerable.

Last edited:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
Too much for a DIYer?