Toilet rough in Question

Users who are viewing this thread

vancouver

Reaction score
I'm new to this so please bear with me. I'm moving a master bathroom into a 10x10 spare bedroom. There will be a double vanity on the north wall, whirlpool and shower on the west wall and a toilet in a water closet on the south wall directly across the room from the double vanity. I was told that I could start at the vanity with a 1 1/2" vent, continue across the room where the tub and shower would tie in and then it would all tie into the 3" toilet drain. Because the toilet will sit perpendicular to the joists and there is a B-vent directly behind it, I have to turn the 90 from the toilet perpendicular to the toilet then make an immediate 90 back, cut through 2 joists then the joist change direction and it's a straight run to the main 4" stack 16' away. Can I just use a 3x3x2 tee under the toilet so that the sinks, tub and shower can just drain directly into it or do I have to try to use a wye somewhere further down the line wherever I can get access???

Thanks in advance.

And I'm in Vancouver, BC if that makes a difference...

Basement_Lurker

One who lurks
Reaction score
I hope you don't intend on cutting 3" pipe through two floor joists. And if you are trying to describe a wet vent installation, then no, 1.5" is not enough.

vancouver

Reaction score
I have already cut the holes. I had a contractor come by and take a look and he said that because of the position of the joists and supports, it wouldn't be a problem. It was actually his suggestion. The holes are in the middle of the 2x10 joists.
I don't think I'm describing a wet vent. The 1.5" vent would run between the sinks and straight up into the attic and roof.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Last edited by a moderator:

Basement_Lurker

One who lurks
Reaction score