Toilet installation help - toilet sits on flange

Users who are viewing this thread

beerdog

Reaction score
This looks like a cool forum. This is my first time posting. I am installing a new toilet to get some better flushing performance. Purchased a Eljer Titan 4. Replacing a Kohler low flow from the early 90's or 80's. Always have to flush twice on #2.

The issue is the toilet rocks arround on the closet flange. The old toilet has about a 1/4" more clearance underneath so there was no interference. Here are some details. I took pics but can't find my camera cable...grrrrrr.

-Installing on concete basement floor.
-Floor is tiled up to the the flange. Floor is level in all direction.
-Closet flange is the original cast iron pipe from 37yrs ago.
-Closet flange is not level. Front is 1/4" higher than back.This translates to allot over the full length of the toilet base. Still need to measure that.
-Front of flange is about 3/4" above the tile. I estimate it needs to come down 1/4".
-Flange is solid and not rusted out.

How should I adress this. I am assuming it is best to have the toilet as flush to the floor as possible since the floor is level.
-Shim it? Seems like it would be a large gap to shim. The whole toilet will have to sit on shims.
-Is the closet flange removable? (i.e twist of)
-Cut off the flange to replace it?
-What would be the best way to replace it if yes on that? I have seen a few choices. The type that screw to the floor. Also seen a type that slips into the pipe with an expanding seal to hold it in place.
-Will replacing the flange make a difference since the pipe receiving it is not perpendicular to the floor.
-maybe grind down the flange front to get some clearance.
Please help. I am tired of flushing twice.

Last edited:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
If the bowl does not reach the floor when set on the flange without wax, then you may need either a lift or shims to raise the bowl over the flange.