To Sub-panel Or Not To Sub-panel.. (long Circuit Runs)

Users who are viewing this thread

Stan the Man

Reaction score
Thanks in advance for taking my question.. First I will say, while I have done many wiring projects around the house, I am NOT an electrician.. I'm in the middle of putting two rooms in the back of my shop.. One above the other.. The shop is 70ft long,.. the breaker box is at the front, the rooms are in the back.. So I have a run of 60ft to the rooms.. Maybe a total longest circuit length of 90ft.. There will be six can lights and four outlets down stairs,.. three lights and four outlets upstairs.. A mini fridge being the only planned constant on the down stairs circuit.. I already have an empty 3/4 EMT running to the back, and have plenty of space in my main panel.. Should I use a sub-panel, or just run the circuits from the front and do my thing?? looking for suggestions..

Stan

Last edited:
Reaction score
Thanks for joining and posting the forums.

With many new members looking for advice and answers, be reminded that good photos and illustrations always invite an audience that can give faster replies that are less generalized and more suited to your exact needs.

Try to provide at least two photos. Include a closeup of the attention area so we can identify fine details, and include one zoomed out so we can see the rest of the room and things nearby, adjacent areas, floors underneath. Use a black marker to write on blue painter's tape or bright colored Post-It's to mark areas of interest, there is no need to modify your photos with fancy text overlays. Use a low resolution setting, as the website can reject images too large. Take as many photos as you can, choose the best ones that are clear.